Mediocre???

Standard

It is Memorial Day weekend and I am doing something untraditional. Cleaning my room. Yep yep. And, well, as most any time while picking up and through my sleeping quarters, I stumbled across some writings.

Thus I read instead of clean.

And the question is…why do I write? My work sucks! It is so full of flaws, you should have seen my face, wrinkled with disdain, snarling at those pages. I soooooo needed a red pen. The work would have been bloody with ink!

Honestly, I know why I write. I simply love it and can’t stop. But what do you do when all you can see is the mediocrity of your work?

My own self-criticism is killing my inspiration like Round-Up…Help?

2 responses »

  1. You need to tell your inner editor and critic to shut up :) Concentrate on the journey that writing is, how you love playing with words. The joy that it brings you is what matters most. When we worry over not being good enough, or being mediocre, our creative processes are usually blocked. Just write, get the words down on the page. Revising, editing, and re-writing is the life of a write after that. That’s what makes the writing good.

Leave a Reply

